<< Back to the Commonwealth Overprints

The Zulu Kingdom was defeated in the Anglo-Zulu War and was subsequently annexed by Great Britain on 19th May 1887 when it was declared a Crown Colony.

The first European postal service was operated by a Natal postal agency at Eshowe opened in 1876 which cancelled Natal stamps with a “No. 56 P.O. Natal” postmark. The agency closed during the Zulu war of 1879 and did not reopen until 1885 when a Eshowe postmark was provided. “ZULULAND” was added to the cancellation in 1887 and stamps of Natal continued to be used until replaced by the overprinted issues on 1st May 1888. A series of ten definitive issues in the key plate style with a profile of Queen Victoria, inscribed “ZULULAND” followed in 1894.

Zululand was annexed by Natal on 31 December 1897, and the stamps of Zululand were discontinued on 30th June 1898.

Catalogue Listing >>

Covers >>

Postmarks >>

Forgeries >>

References >>